Winehouse Wows Philly

May 6, 2007 § 2 Comments

Amy in Concert

British songstress Amy Winehouse gave a dynamic concert last night at the Electric Factory in Philly. After months of scrambling to find tickets, I was able to score some. The show was well worth my scrambling. There’s nothing like Winehouse in concert. Her energy, matched with her wit and powerful vocals of course, made for an exciting night of music. Winehouse performed cuts from her latest album, Back to Black (which I’ve been raving about), and a couple of songs from her debut album, Frank. Throughout the concert, Winehouse of course was not without her ramblings (she talked about doing some signature Michael Jackson leans with her mike), probably inspired by a few drinks before she hit the stage. Typical Winehouse fashion. Gotta love it!



Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Winehouse Wows Philly

  • KP says:

    I wish I could love it, but I know too much about the realities of addiction to warm up to Winehouse. What’s especially painful for me is that she is about the same age as another phenomenally talented young woman I knew — a brilliant writer, musician, and thinker with the whole world available to her for the taking. But drugs took her instead, and she hasn’t been seen since Jan. 2006, somewhere in Philly. I can’t hear “Rehab” without thinking of her. So I can’t support Winehouse. I can only pray for her and others like her.

  • makingsofme says:

    Wow…i’m sorry to hear that. I hope the young woman you know finds her strength to heal. But, I totally see where you’re coming from though. So many talented people always seem to fall into drugs, alcohol, etc. With Winehouse, I wonder why music in itself can’t be enough to help her fight her demons?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Winehouse Wows Philly at The Makings of Me.

meta

