See It: Kanye West’s “Welcome to Heartbreak” w/ Kid Cudi

February 17, 2009 § 2 Comments

“And my head keeps spinning. Can’t stop having these visions. I gotta get with it.”

Chaos and heartbreak has never looked this good! Peep Kanye’s new video, “Welcome to Heartbreak,” directed by Nabil. I have to be honest, I wasn’t wowed by 808’s and Heartbreak. For one thing, too much auto-tuning from someone whose signature isn’t auto-tuning. I think we can all agree that his previous efforts were definitely a cut above this album. However, his album’s lyrical concept (pretty much a diary of love gone awry) was deafening in terms of creativity and I understand that sometimes when people go through things, they just have to put their heart out on the line and let it all hang out. Kudos to West for that. I respect and commend the realness of 808’s and Heartbreak as a “concept” album. “Welcome to Heartbreak,” was one of the few tracks on 808’s and Heartbreak that really stood out to me in terms of subject matter (sure it’s depressing, but so are some of the greatest hits of all time!) and the beats are blazing, of course. This video, which West says took a month to create, is INCREDIBLE! Technology has clearly come a long way. The imagery and juxtapositions are stunning and the artistic concept of the video as a whole works to convey the message of a chaotic soul that is maddened, saddened and ultimately defeated by heartbreak.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to See It: Kanye West’s “Welcome to Heartbreak” w/ Kid Cudi

  • ms shai says:

    So tell me why I like 808’s & Heartbreak better than all his other albums. It’s not his best rap album but it is his best work in my opinion. …Yeah I remember I wasn’t sayin this sht when it dropped but so what, thas how I feel. I like it as much as I thought I would like it, back when I thought I would like it.

  • makingsofme says:

    Woww…that’s interesting. I definitely liked his other albums more, especially College Dropout and Graduation. But, hey that’s just me.

    I will however agree that 808’s has grown on me more than I thought it would. While I don’t love the album, I still listen to some of the tracks.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading See It: Kanye West’s “Welcome to Heartbreak” w/ Kid Cudi at The Makings of Me.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

